2018 Horse Awards - Junior Judging

4-H Horse Awards Night, held Oct. 4, 2018 recognized top achievements at the Lancaster County Super Fair and other accomplishments throughout the past year. 4-H volunteer Emily Nolan was Master of Ceremonies. Tails N’ Trails 4-H club distributed programs and led the pledges.

Photos from Awards Night are now available on Flickr!

Judging Contest:

The Horse Judging Contest (a Lancaster County Super Fair contest) emphasizes how much 4-H members know about horse conformation as they judge four or more classes of horses along with the opportunity to give oral reasons. The Champion of each division received a buckle.

Elementary Division: Shea Frink (Champion), Elizabeth Boshart (Reserve Champion), Max Roberts (3rd), Lyra Krutak (4th), Josie Soukup (5th)

Intermediate Division: Emmi Dearmont (Champion), Cadi Wilbeck (Reserve Champion), Lillie Beach (3rd), Julia Soukup (4th), Ellie Bunz (5th), Skylar Frisbie (6th), Mackenzie Robles (7th), Shyann Severson (8th), Kali Maytum (9th), Madi Hall (10th)

Senior Division: Madi Brandt (Champion), Kate Cooper (Reserve Champion), Katie Nepper (3rd), Shelbey Sundling (4th)

Horsemanship Advancement Levels:

The Nebraska 4-H Horse Project advancement levels are designed to serve as guides for instruction and evaluation of each member’s progress. The correct handling of horses is emphasized from the beginning level to the most advanced level. Each level is a huge accomplishment.

Level I Ground: Layton Brauckmuller, Hope Davis, Finley Long, Adelyn McIntosh, Joylena Moran, Carlos Olson

Level I Walk/Trot: Colleen Brown, Afton Byelick, Addison Gropp, Ava Hammers, Cayleigh Harre, Cora Hoeft, Zoey Jamison, Carson Jurgens, Max Roberts, Isaac Thompson

Level I: Scarlett Battles, Madison Blair, Elizabeth Boshart, Khilynne Dieken, Elizabeth Funk, Isabella Grosskopf, Maleah Jamison, Josie Johnson, Lyra Krutak, Gianna LePlante, Todd Munk, Natalie Plautz

Level II: Khilynne Dieken, Kaitlyn Dumler, Skylar Frisbie, Katie Nepper, Emma Ohle, Taylor Root, Shyann Severson, Judson Tietjen

Level IV: Lillie Beach, Kali Maytum


The herdsmanship contest evaluates five areas during the county fair, condition of the animals, stalls, alley ways, storage, and teamwork or conduct of those participating in the contest. Good herdsmanship shows that they are taking pride in their projects, themselves and their clubs.

Independents: Katie Nepper (champion) and Madison Schnase (reserve champion)

Small Club: Star City Cornhuskers (champion)-Leader Stephanie Polk and Everything Equine (reserve champion)- Leader Chelsea Thompson

Large Club: Blazing Saddles (champion)- Leader Sheila Purdum and Boot N Hooves (reserve champion)- Leader Teresa Brandt

County Fair Decorations:

Independents: Ava Wharton, with Cookie Monster Theme (champion) and Chase and Tanner McInteer, with Disney Theme (reserve champion)

Small Clubs: Rockin’ Riders- led by Ruth Laue, with Fairy Tale Land theme (champion) and Star City Cornhuskers- led by Stephanie Polk, with Hats off to 4-H theme (reserve champion)

Large Clubs: Boots N Hooves- led by Teresa Brandt, with Around the World theme (champion) and Prairie Star- led by Sally Shedlock, with Jurassic Park theme (reserve champion)

Special Recognition Awards

Top Incentive Stories: Elizabeth Boshart, Madison Blair, Skylar Frisbie, Kali Maytum, Taylor Root, Shyann Severson

Top Horsemanship Levels: Khylinne Dieken, Addi Grop, Maleah Jamison

Top Incentive Notebooks: Colleen Brown, Skylar Frisbie, Isabella Grosskopf, Katie Nepper

Outstanding Youth Volunteer: Austin Brown

Incentive Awards:

In the Lancaster County 4-H Horse Incentive program, participating 4-H’ers logged the hours they spent working with or learning about horses. The more hours invested, the more valuable the reward! The Horse Incentive Awards are sponsored by the Lancaster County 4-H Horse Volunteers in Program Service (VIPS) Committee.

Bronze (minimum of 100 hours or points): Hope Davis, Elizabeth Funk, Zoey Jamison, Sarina Kyhn, Katie Marsh, Todd Munk, Bridget Smith

Silver (minimum of 225 hours or points) Scarlett Battles, Lillie Beach, Madison Blair, Michaela Bunz, Jocelyn Cobb, Shea Frink, Samantha Fox, Addison Gropp, Madi Hall, Bailey Hampton, Maleah Jamison, Lyra Krutak, Kali Maytum, Natalie Plautz, Ally Quinn, Taylor Root, Josie Soukup, Isaac Thompson, Sierra Wilson

Gold (minimum of 390 hours or points, and completed horse record book): Elizabeth Boshart, Colleen Brown, Ellie Bunz, Ashley Clegg, Megan Danley, Emmi Dearmont, Kaitlyn Dumler, Skylar Frisbie, Sidney Froistad, Isabella Grosskopf, Cassie Meyer, Porshe Miller, Katie Nepper, Shyann Severson, Julia Soukup, Bethany Wachter, Cadi Wilbeck, Ava Wharton, Timothy White

Top Awards:

Bluestem All-Around Miniature Horse Award for high point 4-H miniature horse at the Lancaster County Super Fair, sponsored by the Bluestem Miniature Horse Club — Afton Byelick (horse “Rocking M Tonys Mene Kooper”)

Nebraska Dressage Association High Score Dressage Rider Awards for high score riders in the 4-H Dressage Show in both the traditional dressage classes and the western dressage classes at the Lancaster County Super Fair, sponsored by Nebraska Dressage Association. High score traditional dressage riders — Miya Higgins (champion) and Jocelyn Cobb (reserve champion). High score western riders — Aubrey Hayes (champion) and Ashley Clegg (reserve champion)

Dr. Kelly Stich Top NRHA Reining Awards sponsored by Dr. Kelly Stich. Elementary — Chase McInteer; Junior — Clara Bradbury; Senior — Jadin Vogler

Dick and Cookie Confer Top Trail Award for all-around champion of the Lancaster County Super Fair 4-H Trail obstacle class — Jadin Vogler

Franklyn Manning All-Around Barrels Award for fastest time in the Lancaster County Super Fair 4-H Barrel Racing competition — Lillie Beach

All-Around Cowboy/Cowgirl Award — This year, only one age division qualified for the All-Around Cowboy/Cowgirl at the Lancaster County Super Fair to receive a buckle. Senior — Jadin Vogler

All-Around Ranch Horse Awards — Age division awards for All-Around Ranch Horse at the Lancaster County Super Fair are sponsored by Olive Creek Acres Performance Horses – Brian and Shannon Vogler. Junior — Erin Oldemeyer (horse “Hunters Paintbrush”); Senior — Emily Burnside (horse “High Society Dun It”)

Lowell Boomer High Point Jumping Award for the all-around champion in the 4-H jumping classes at the Lancaster County Super Fair, sponsored by Hunter’s Pride 4-H Club and Cornhusker Pony Club — Madi Brandt

Wilhelmina Wittstruck Memorial All-Around Champion Award for Lancaster County Super Fair all-around 4-H champion individual, sponsored by Joan and the late Dwayne Wittstruck — Aubrey Hayes